CHE Capacity Building workshop (March, June, September & November 2014) | HEC Capacity Building workshop (March, July & October 2014) | CHP Capacity Building workshop (March & June 2014) | Seminars with Health/Line Department for RHIA Advocacy (March, June, September & December 2014) | Training of Advocacy Group (Feb, May, August & November 2014) | District Level Advocacy Campaign (September 2014) | RHIA Sports Gala (June & October 2014) | Interactive Theater on RHIA Topics (May & September 2014) in Eleven Slums Communities of Islamabad

Psychosocial developments

* Cognitive Development – According to Jean Piaget, there are four major stages of cognitive development:

  1. Sensorimotor Stage. This stage occurs between the ages of birth and two years of age.Sensorimotor (infancy): During this stage, which includes six distinct substages, intelligence is demonstrated through motor activity with limited use of symbols, including language; the infant’s knowledge of the world is primarily based on physical interactions and experiences.
  2. Preoperational Stage. The second stage occurs between the ages of 2 – 7 years. During this stage, intelligence is increasingly demonstrated through the use of symbols; memory and imagination are developed as language use matures; thinking is no logical, nonreversible, and egocentric.
  3. Concrete Operations Stage. Occurring between ages 7 and about 12 years. During this stage—characterized by conservation of number, length, liquid, mass, weight, area, volume—intelligence is increasingly demonstrated through logical and systematic manipulation of symbols relating to concrete objects; thinking is operational, reversible, and less egocentric.
  4. Formal Operations Stage. The final stage of cognitive development (from age 12 and beyond). During this final stage, intelligence is demonstrated through the logical use of symbols related to abstract concepts; thinking is abstract, hypothetical, and early on, quite egocentric; it is commonly held that the majority of people never complete this stage.

* Emotional Development – Concerning children’s increasing awareness and control of their feelings and how they react to these feelings in a given situation.

* Social Development – Concerning the children’s identity, their relationships with others, and understanding their place within a social environment

There are many other reformers of education that have contributed to what early childhood education means today. Although Piaget had a great impact on early childhood education, people like John Locke, Horace Mann and Jane Addams contributed a lifetime of work to reform education and learning in this country. The information presented is a starting point for educators to better understand the development of children.

The first-ever Conference about Early Childhood Care and Education took place in Moscow from 27 to 29 September 2010, jointly organized by UNESCO and the city of Moscow. The overarching goals of the World Conference on Early Childhood Care and Education (WCECCE) are to:

* Reaffirm ECCE as a right of all children and as the basis for development

* Take stock of the progress of Member States towards achieving the EFA Goal 1

* Identify binding constraints toward making the intended equitable expansion of access to quality ECCE services

* Establish, more concretely, benchmarks and targets for the EFA Goal 1 toward 2015 and beyond

* Identify key enablers that should facilitate Member States to reach the established targets

* Promote global exchange of good practices


  • Icon 02
  • Icon 02
  • Icon 02
  • Icon 02
    Green Star
  • Icon 02
    Kinder Not Hilfe
  • Icon 02
    Save the Children
  • Icon 02
    America Embassay
  • Icon 02
    HealthNet TPO
  • Icon 02
  • Icon 02
    Marie Stopes Society